Spain and us :)

Leaving a full time job and staying at home is tough…real tough…the day starts lazily, and seems to be extraordinarily long. When you wake up, you think of all the different things you can do this day. If you are anything like me  (which is very rare :)) you will probably make a mental list of what all you can do during the day.

For me everyday starts with a list of at least a dozen odd jobs that I have to do. I have the E-N-T-I-R-E… the W-H-O-L-E…the C-O-M-P-L-E-T-E day by myself! I get ready with my mental list to attack the day and achieve something! Its not that I do not do anything… of the dozen have to do list, I complete almost two of them every day 😉 and transfer the rest for the next day!

Since there is no hurry and time is a luxury..I spend it wisely 🙂 The day ends with another mental list of what all I have to do the next day 😛

Anyhow staying at home gives me a lot of time to read, observe and to think. One article which I went through was about La Tomatino festival. It is a tomato fight festival that is held on the last Wednesday of August each year at Bunol, Spain.

For me the very mention of this festival makes me inadvertently hum the song of ZNMD 🙂

…..”ooh aah..take the world and paint it red” …..

I have always compared La Tomatino to our very own Holi. Instead if using paint and colors, people use tomatoes. The spirit is the same of fun, laughter and festivities.

Interestingly, that is not the only similarity between La tomatino and festivals in India. Here’s what I read about Tomatino : “Technically the festival does not begin until one brave soul has climbed to the top of a two-story high, greased-up wooden pole and reached the coveted ham at the top.” 

Reminds you of something?? Well…?? Isn’t it the same as our very own Janmashtami dahi handi celebration!! Granted they do not use a human pyramid and the they do not have to break any earthen pot. But to me the concept seemed so similar!

You can see La tomatino video here>>

http://www.latomatinatours.com/

(sorry, I could not get their youtube link)

And our Janmashtami here>>>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwD-wI8NbWM&feature=related

There you go similarity in traditions..eh???

Well..untill next time keep humming…..”paint it red” 🙂

1 thought on “Spain and us :)

Leave a comment